Back At It In Colorado

Chantysboy7

Back At It In Colorado

Postby Chantysboy7 » Thu Mar 02, 2017 4:17 pm

I studied classic guitar at Arizona State in the late 90s. While there, my *then* wife got accepted to veterinary school in Colorado. I reluctantly sold my Michael Thames guitar, made specifically for me, to help finance our move. I pretty much quit playing guitar altogether at that point. Recently, I was screwing around on the internet and I came across that very Michael Thames guitar for sale. Unfortunately, before I could buy it, it was gone. However, it has resparked my interest in playing again.
I had a pretty devastating injury to my left hand about a decade ago, and had to relearn how to play guitar. Since then it's been simple stuff, rock, blues, praise and worship music. But, my skill level is back to where I think I can begin playing classic guitar again.
Next step is to save up to purchase a quality guitar. Any suggestion for something under a grand? I'm not expecting Thames quality, that will come later. Just something to get me through temporarily.
I prefer Spanish sounding stuff, and romantic period guitar music. One of my faves is Barrios Mangore. Particularly looking forward to learning Isabel.
The access to music is amazing today, so much easier to hear music and learn it than when I was in school. Very excited to be getting back into it.
Thanks for letting me join your forum.
Jay
Last edited by Chantysboy7 on Thu Mar 02, 2017 6:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

George Crocket

Re: Back At It

Postby George Crocket » Thu Mar 02, 2017 5:47 pm

Hi Jay. Welcome to the forum. Sorry about your hand injury - but it's great that you are back at playing classical guitar despite it.