Hello from Connecticut

Semitone

Hello from Connecticut

Post by Semitone » Sun Mar 05, 2017 11:00 pm

Hello Everybody,

I've been hanging out on this forum for about the last month trying to pick up any tidbits of knowledge I can.

Background:

I played electric guitar quite a bit when I was a teenager and took lessons back then. After a hiatus of many decades I started playing again about five years ago. I guess I am a fan of "all things guitar." I'm still mostly an electric player...usually rock, but I was in a jazz ensemble for a while. I like to tinker with my electric, change pickups...whatever. Built my own tube amp at one point a few years ago but now I am into digital modeling pretty much all the time.

Now:

I decided that I flit too much from style to style on guitar. One day I am playing slide on a folk instrument then a couple hours later working on my sweep picking on an electric. Occasionally, I would pick up my nylon string guitar and work on some "classical" pieces. Overall, I decided bouncing around so much was just slowing me down from really progressing... so about a month ago I decided to stick with nylon for the time being (TBD).

When I was young, I played pieces out of Levitt's book "Classical Studies for Pick-Style Guitar". That was more or less my intro to Classical Guitar. I never focussed on proper classical technique although a couple years ago I picked up Parkening's books and started to work my way through in a rather spotty way.

So now, as I said, I am focussing on nylon for a while. My electrics are packed up and in the closet. I am back to Parkening's books, some Youtube videos and a list of approx. 20 songs I hope to eventually play. We'll see how long I can stay away from electricity. Actually I have a Godin nylon strung instrument ( in addition to my classical acoustic) so I may be plugging in sooner than later but the pick is staying in the pocket for now.

Well, that is my longwinded intro....