Greetings from the Scottish Highlands

chitarra1600

Greetings from the Scottish Highlands

Post by chitarra1600 » Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:46 pm

Greetings all,
Great to join this community. I'm Natasha. I've been playing classical guitar for over 20 years and I studied music for baroque guitar at university. Although I've played for a long time, I never really got to grips with my nerves, so I usually avoided performance and was content to play to myself. These past few years I've neglected the guitar while putting all my effort into my day job, but now I'm hoping to get back on track and finally do my diploma. It's something I always wanted to do but could never quite get my playing to the required level. Needless to say, my playing is a little rusty and I'm hoping the community here will help keep me motivated and that I'll find plenty of tips to improve my technique among the resources here. Obviously I have an interest in early guitar music. I have a baroque guitar, which I haven't been playing for long but am starting to get to grips with. I also have a real passion for the music of Latin America, and am hoping to play music by Villa-Lobos, Pereira and Piazzolla in my diploma recital. Bye for now.

Jack Douglas

Re: Greetings from the Scottish Highlands

Post by Jack Douglas » Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:50 pm

Hi Natasha,
Welcome. Where in the Scottish Highlands? It's such a beautiful area.
I wish you success in completing your diploma requirements.
Jack
Hauser III 2014!

GeoffB
Chief moderator
Chief moderator

Post by GeoffB » Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:51 pm

Hi Natasha,

Welcome to the forum! The problem of nerves is one you'll see frequently discussed here. Just put "Performance Anxiety" into the search box at the top right of the page to see what I mean! Maybe you'll find some tips you haven't come across. In any case, I'm sure you'll find plenty here to interest you.