Greetings from Birmingham, UK

Smudger5150

Greetings from Birmingham, UK

Post by Smudger5150 » Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:07 am

Hello I'd like to introduce myself so here goes...

I’m an on/off guitar player who has reached Grade 5 (UK exams) classical Guitar and who loves all types of music.
I started learning guitar in my teens starting with the usual chords but didn’t find it easy to start with and then it wasn’t until I got a Happy Traum tutorial book that taught you sight music and fingerstyle (classical/folk/Spanish etc) in my early 20s that my learning of the guitar really took off.

I actually learned saxophone for about 2 months in my early teens too but that didn’t have too much impact on my musical learning.

After getting to approximately grade 3-ish level on the guitar, I started taking classical guitar lessons in my mid20s and after a couple of years passed my grade 5.
This was whilst I was at University.
When I left the area to work in the Birmingham area, needless to say, work got in the way and I have struggled to resume the same level of playing.
However, I still manage to play and practise occasionally and have gone to open-mic nights and a local classical guitar club (now defunct) to either play pieces or sing songs with guitar accompaniment.
I have recently tried to resume my classical guitar exam studies and I’ve got the details of the various UK board’s exams such as pieces and exam requirements (scales, arpeggios etc) and I’m slowly going through them.

I am also trying to balance this with learning pieces that I love that aren’t part of the exams – and these are classical and non-classical instrumental pieces.
Pieces that I’m currently learning are:- Danza by Ruiz-Pipo, Un dia de Novembre by Brouwer, Mood for a day by Steve Howe and Spanish Fly by Van Halen (this one might take me a while!)

As mentioned, I love all music but have a particular fondness for all things guitar.