Greetings from the UK

mdub2000

Greetings from the UK

Post by mdub2000 » Sat Mar 11, 2017 4:04 am

Hi there my name is Mark and I'm really happy to be here. Theres seems to be such great community of folks here willing to learn and help each other grow as musicians. I've been playing guitar when I was about 14 years old and I'm now in my 40's but my understanding has been limited because I was mainly self taught with many gaps. Believe it or not I started playing guitar because of heavy metal and was amazed by some of the virtuosity that guitarist in the metal guitarist had. In the process of trying to learn how to play like a speed demon a learned many of these guys had their foundations in classical but before I could gain a full appreciation of classical I quit trying to play metal because I didn't know how to get better and I ended up mainly playing for my church and sticking to basic chords with maybe some basic understanding of blues and jazz theory and what not. Well as a bucket list goal for myself I've decided to put myself on a new journey into classical guitar for a few reasons. One is that the pieces from the great composers are just so deeply beautiful, that sound, the melodies the music really moves me emotionally and I've come to appreciate it so much more as I've aged. Two, I like the discipline that comes behind learning this style there is a lot of mindfulness that goes behind technique and playing to prevent injury and to me thats important for longevity. Three I do want to improve myself in the discipline of learning how to be competent at reading music for the guitar. Reading music has always been such a weakness for me and I feel that classical stresses this aspect quite well compared to many of the other styles of guitar. Lastly I'm not getting any younger and I don't want to keep my bucket list of goals waiting forever heheheh. So right now I'm looking to start by trying an online course but it seems like there are quite a few but the two I