A re-joining member! - and advance notice of some new Debussy!

John Kemp

A re-joining member! - and advance notice of some new Debussy!

Post by John Kemp » Wed Mar 15, 2017 10:20 am

I have been playing classical guitar for nearly 60 years, and am Secretary of the Canterbury Guitar Society. I appreciate the 'extended' international guitar repertoire from non-player composers, from Frank Martin to Ronald Binge - to name just two - in addition to the 'standard' largely hispanic pieces. I enjoy doing some editing and transcriptions, and had pieces by William Croft and Vaughan Williams published many years ago. I joined Delcamp in 2014 largely to place an edition of a Lullaby by my late father, Lloyd Kemp, and my own transcription of a Scarlatti sonata, but unfortunately allowed my membership to lapse. (I am hoping it is technically possible to reincarnate my lapsed membership so that I am identified with my previous posts). My transcriptions include a lot of Debussy, made mostly over 30 years ago, but I have done little with them owing to the then copyright constraints. I have recently resurrected my favourite, "La Puerta del Vino" and will shortly be submitting this, now almost entirely free of copyright constraints, with some virtuoso engraving by Bernhard Heimann. I am also interested in luthiery. As an amateur player I am largely self-taught, but over the years I have had some short series of lessons from three excellent and demanding teachers. My playing has been in the doldrums but is now improving quickly as I reinstate my self-discipline!
Last edited by John Kemp on Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Erik Zurcher

Re: A re-joining member! - and advance notice of some new Debussy!

Post by Erik Zurcher » Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:55 am

Hello John and welcome to Delcamp forum! Enjoy yourself and see you around!

To learn more about this forum and its rules, please have a look at our welcome page