Greetings from Ohio

davidc

Greetings from Ohio

Post by davidc » Wed Mar 15, 2017 1:51 pm

Hello.I started out on the guitar at the age of nine,but started taking Classical Guitar Lessons at 13 yrs. I have been fortunate to take lessons at the College Conservatory of Music in Cincinnati,Ohio.I earned a Bachelors in Music from Morehead State University in Morehead,Kentucky in 1988.Since that time,I have been teaching guitar in all styles.I have taught classical and finger style to every one of my students.It was always really important to teach everyone about reading music,not tablature.This may seem old school,but it worked better for everyone when they started out learning.I have had students who went on to successful careers in the music industry,and many are still at it playing out on the weekends in coffee bars,or a restaurant that supports local talent.I am very active playing theatre orchestras in Ohio,playing Acoustic and Electric along w/ banjo and mandolin.My health during the last 5 years has slowed me down due to cancer,but I am moving toward remission once again.Not fun,but I stay focused on the positive.I hope I can find something of interest to contribute to this forum.Thanks. : :merci:

Vito Simplicio
Composer & Moderator
Composer & Moderator

Re: Greetings from Ohio

Post by Vito Simplicio » Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:04 pm

Hello David,

Welcome!
davidc wrote:I hope I can find something of interest to contribute to this forum.Thanks. : :merci:
With your rich history playing the CG, there's no doubt that your contribution to this forum will be appreciated.