Greetings, from beautiful Northfield Minnesota!

Guitardunord

Greetings, from beautiful Northfield Minnesota!

Post by Guitardunord » Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:54 pm

I am a classical and flamenco guitarist and collector, (and also play Renaissance lute). I taught middle school music for 38 years, (not looking for sympathy, it's just a fact :D ). I do programs on the evolution of the guitar, where I use 12-15 instruments, starting with my renaissance and baroque lutes and vihuela, (reproductions), and then continuing with my antiques. My oldest guitars date from 1785 England, and 1835, 1850, and 1900 Spain, to present day classical and flamenco concert guitars. They are incredibly beautiful instruments that were state of the art in their day, and a blast to play! I have also recently gotten very interested in acoustic fingerstyle and ukulele, (people have no concept of what that little instrument can do). Unfortunately, I'm having severe problems with arthritis. A few years ago, I had a CMC Arthoplasty, (rebuilt thumb joint, horrible way to die). Still fighting a great deal of pain, but workable. As I am sure many of you have found, we were not created to make many million extra motions with our hands! However, I am greatly enjoying retirement, playing time, more than I've ever had before! Below is my arsenal of weaponry:

Classical Instruments

1785 English 10 string, (in 6 courses), English Yew, Brazilian Rosewood neck
1835 Lacote French Mirecourt
1855 James Ashborn, (main competitor of CF Martin)
1900 Jose Ramirez I Flamenco, (highly flamed maple)
1926 Jose Ramirez II Flamenco
1983 Jose Ramirez III "1A" Classical
1982 Jose Ramirez III Steel String Dreadnought
1994 Jose Ramirez III Marcel Dadi Electric cutaway
1959 Conde Hermanos Flamenco
1973 Manuel Contreras Flamenco
2001 M.Tezanos-Perez "Maestro" Classical
2013 Kenny Hill Performance (630mm)
2016 Sergei de Jonge (615mm)
1973 William Daum 8 course Renaissance lute
1996 Daniel Larson 10 course Renaissance lute