Hello from Australia

Robert Charles

Hello from Australia

Post by Robert Charles » Sat Mar 25, 2017 2:37 am

Hi, I live on the Gold Coast which is near Brisbane, Australia. I've been watching this site for a while and finally decided to join, so here I am!
I'm retired so have plenty of time to spend on my guitar, which I love. I've been learning for just over two years: the first year teaching myself with so so results and the second year with the help of a very good teacher. Since learning with this teacher I feel I have made good progress, although sometimes its frustrating to do things his way slowly when all I want to do is race ahead. :D
At the moment I am concentrating on two popular pieces by Tarrega: Adelita and Lagrima. I haven't got them down just the way I would want yet, but improving all the time. My teacher sets more basic stuff as his focus is on correct technique and a quality output. I understand and appreciate this but my nature is to strike out and experiment, so we have a truce, of sorts.
Other stuff I am starting on is some traditional Irish folk music.

One of the chief motivations for me to join this forum is that I have no opportunity to talk to or play music with others like myself who love classical guitar. It has been a solitary quest so far. I'm looking forward to meeting and chatting with others.

Well, that's me for now.
Rob
Rob

Katoh MCG 200S (2016)
Yamaha G55 (1971)

George Crocket

Re: Hello from Australia

Post by George Crocket » Sat Mar 25, 2017 8:02 am

Hello Rob. Welcome to the forum. There are lots of us retirees here. :sage: It's a great time to learn classical guitar, though the only advances that we can expect to be rapid are the advances in our ages! :(