Hello from the Highlands of Scotland (Inverness)

tim

Hello from the Highlands of Scotland (Inverness)

Postby tim » Wed Mar 29, 2017 3:11 pm

Hey everyone,

I have registered in a continued effort to revive my classical guitar skills after a long break.
I actually did guitar at high school in order to get into a music degree with the aims of doing composition, I started learning around the age of 16 and stopped playing at the age of 22. I got to about ABRSM grade 6 then didn't play for about 3-4 years while doing my degree and working out my life. Of course now that I've started playing again I sorely regret not picking it up in those 4 years as I have regressed tremendously.
For me, when I was learning, I just had the goal of getting into a musical degree with composition being on the forefront on my mind, so I did a pretty rushed zero to grade 6 in 5 years and I really didn't find it that fun. I actually wanted to play electric guitar, but the only free teacher in my area was a classical guitar teacher :oops:
Anyway now that I don't have to practice for a music degree and am no longer a student I have a bit more motivation to go back and fix some of my shoddy technique.

Anyways, my life story aside: I am working on relearning from a foundationary level to try and work out some of the problems I have. I can't afford the time to see a guitar teacher, so I'm trying to amass as much information online as I can so that I can try and diagnose and fix my technique. I'm hoping that I can refer to some of the knowledge here on this forum (I have already had a quick look through a number of your free pieces of sheet music).

Looking forward to spending some time here and all the best from Scotland 8)

George Crocket

Re: Hello from the Highlands of Scotland (Inverness)

Postby George Crocket » Wed Mar 29, 2017 3:41 pm