Progress through Noad Solo Guitar Playing

mikefreeman

Progress through Noad Solo Guitar Playing

Post by mikefreeman » Sun Apr 02, 2017 4:09 pm

Hi- my name is Mike and I live in Cornwall England. I have been playing the Classical Guitar for nearly 2 years, and making good progress self-teaching using the Noad book 3rd Edition.
I was making good progress until I got to the nine pieces around page 180 which include 4 pieces by Robert De Visee. I feel as though I have now hit a wall in terms of the physical technique required for bar 10 in the Allemand and bar 11 in the Gigue. I have been stuck on these pieces now for about 3 months trying to perfect these parts but my progress is now very slow.
My question is, should I persist in trying to perfect these parts before moving on in the book?
Will future pieces in the book help me to perfect these De Visee pieces retrospectively?
I practice at least 1 hour every day, and have now memorised all the De Visee pieces, and run through them daily, going back to the difficult parts and giving them extra practice.
My difficulty is physical ability, particularly with bar 11 in the Gigue.
Can anyone offer me advice on whether to move on, or stick at these pieces until they are performance ready?
Many thanks

Rick Hutt

Re: Progress through Noad Solo Guitar Playing

Post by Rick Hutt » Mon Apr 03, 2017 2:08 pm