Hello From Nashville

Bsandesh

Hello From Nashville

Post by Bsandesh » Fri Apr 07, 2017 2:02 pm

Greetings from Nashville.

My name is Sandesh, I am from India but residing in Nashville for the last one decade.
I am a beginner-Intermediate guitar player and started learning guitar from 2013.
Although I admit that what drew me to learn guitar were great songwriters like Leonard Cohen or Bob Dylan, I used to listen to a fair amount of classical music as well.I tried electric guitar at the beginning, but the current culture about guitars are all about solos/shredding/being rock star etc and somehow after a year I felt I was not learning anything musically, nor did my skills grow.
So, I went back to basics, picked up a nylon string classical guitar, learnt to read music sheets, started practicing very small pieces of composition/Etudes etc.And also, I was inspired by Leonard Cohen, his picking patterns, on how he started learning with just 3-4 chords on his nylon string guitar, and his entire musical creative output was a result of his background in classical guitar.
Now, I can play prelude in D minor Robert de Visée by reading music sheet.Currently, I am almost done with 25 bars of Bach's BWV (Jesu,joy)
Next I want to take up Bach's Bouree or Torija by Torroba.
I have a Cordoba C7 Cutaway and a C9 in Cedar.

I find this forum very informative and not to mention there are great people here with wide variety of skill experience in everything related to music and guitar. I hope to be an active participant on this forum in years to come.

Thank you for reading this.
-Sandesh Balasubrahmanyam
"There is a crack in everything, that's how the light gets in"- Leonard Cohen
Yairi CY70
Yairi CYM75

Montgomery

Re: Hello From Nashville

Post by Montgomery » Fri Apr 07, 2017 2:31 pm

Hi Sandesh

Welcome to the forum. I hope you enjoy it, it's great to have you here.

Luuttuaja

Post by Luuttuaja » Fri Apr 07, 2017 9:14 pm

Hello Sandesh, welcome to the forum!

GeoffB