Hi from Minneapolis

btmac

Hi from Minneapolis

Post by btmac » Tue Apr 11, 2017 7:47 pm

Hello folks:

I recently bought a steel string dreadnought from someone on Craigslist, and this nice fellow had several classical guitars that he insisted I try. Kind of a revelation for me in terms of the feeling. That night I thought "damn, now I have to buy one of these". I have enjoyed listening to classical guitar and related nylon-string music for ages (Segovia, Isbin, LAGQ, Rodrigo y Gabriela, Jose Gonzalez, etc.), but had never tried a classical guitar. The feeling of the instrument resonating against my chest, and the feel of the neck, were very intriguing. I thought it would be a great instrument to play quietly in the evenings before bed.

So, a couple of weeks ago I found a very nice 30+ year old L. Mozzani on Craigslist for a great price. All solid, spruce top, rosewood back and sides. It has been fun getting to know it so far.

I have played guitar for several years, self-taught, with lots of enjoyment but never making huge progress. Started out trying to learn fingerstyle folk/blues/slack-key, played at a bunch of bluegrass beginner jams, and then played around with some electric rock/blues.

I am looking forward to learning with the help of the resources and community here.

Thanks,
Brian

Erik Zurcher

Re: Hi from Minneapolis

Post by Erik Zurcher » Tue Apr 11, 2017 8:10 pm

Hello Brian and welcome to Delcamp forum! Enjoy yourself and see you around!

To learn more about this forum and its rules, please have a look at our welcome page

- Once you have had 2 messages approved by the moderators, you will get access to levels 1 - 3 of the Delcamp score collection, and also be able to post your own scores and recordings.