Greetings from Northwest Washington State!

Stephen.Verderber

Greetings from Northwest Washington State!

Post by Stephen.Verderber » Tue Apr 11, 2017 10:26 pm

My name is Stephen Verderber and I have been playing the guitar since 1971. I started out playing blues and rock (early influences were the Allman Brothers Band), I then started looking into playing fingerstyle (influenced greatly by John Fahey and Leo Kottke). In the mid 1980's I started studying classical guitar and took formal lessons by a teacher whose name was Micheal McChesney, when I lived in the Bay Area in California.

I stopped playing guitar for over 20+ years (what a dummy I was) but then started playing again in 2005. Playing steel-string fingerstyle in different tunings, I also started playing lap-steel using a square-neck resonator. I had given my old classical guitar (1981 Takamine C-132s) to my brother, and it sat in his closet for those 20+ years I had stopped playing. He visited my last year and gave me the guitar back, so now I am again taking up the classical guitar after many years away from it.

I don't perform anywhere except I have a yearly house-concert where I play my various guitars and then everyone eats and has a good time, I also do a bunch of recording and put out a yearly CD for friends and family.

So, in a nutshell, that has been my musical life, and I am really happy to be part of this forum.

GeoffB
Chief moderator
Chief moderator

Re: Greetings from Northwest Washington State!

Post by GeoffB » Wed Apr 12, 2017 12:30 am

Hi Stephen,