Hello from the South Coast of England

Barnaby

Hello from the South Coast of England

Post by Barnaby » Wed Apr 12, 2017 8:31 am

Hello,

Although my username is Barnaby, my name is actually Chris, it's just Barnaby would be my choice of middle name, if I had one, and it's rarely used as a username so is better than Chris2017!

I've been playing the guitar on and off for twenty years, I've babbled with other instruments, Saxophone and violin, but the guitar keeps pulling me back. Alas I'm not a natural musician, my progress is plodding at best, and every now and then I stop and think, this time I'll do it right! Put new strings on my guitar, look for a new method book that will be the one to reveal the secrets, and then dedicate myself to the guitar for a while. Half my trouble is that my first steps with the guitar was with TAB and now reading music and translating that onto the guitar neck is a struggle for me, even though I can read music to a degree having learnt to play the saxophone.

About three months ago I got myself sorted out again, although I didn't buy a new method book, but dug out my copies of Julio S. Sagreras (books 1-3) and Pumping Nylon (complete edition), I'd never looked at the easy to early intermediate repertoire in that before. I'm also borrowing an Ergoplay guitar rest from a friend, which I'm finding the most comfortable way to support the guitar.

Anyway that's probably more information that you needed, really I just wanted to say Hi.

All the best, Chris

James Lister
Moderator & Luthier
Moderator & Luthier

Re: Hello from the South Coast of England

Post by James Lister » Wed Apr 12, 2017 8:56 am

Hi Chris,

Welcome to Delcamp!

Please feel free to join in with existing discussions, or to start your own topic. The members here are very friendly and supportive, and if you need any extra help, you can ask one of the moderators (usernames shown in green, except mine, which is purple, as I'm also a luthier).