Hey from Portland, Oregon

mike_arnesen

Hey from Portland, Oregon

Post by mike_arnesen » Sat May 27, 2017 5:16 am

Hi everyone,

My name is Mike and I'm new around here. I've been playing classical guitar for 16 years (though I had a 13-year period in the middle where I didn't practice much at all). I picked up the electric guitar in High School and played in a few punk rock bands, but once I got into college I started playing classical. Music was the only thing I was passionate about back then so I became a music major with a classical guitar focus. I studied with an instructor for two years, played in an ensemble, and had a few recitals. I was okay, but not great. I ended up getting burnt out though and switched to a history major. Didn't play much at all for years, but recently picked it up again (about a year ago). I'm getting my chops back and can still read music pretty well. I've been learning some new pieces and relearning some from my old repertoire. Favorite composers are Torroba, Tarrega, and because I love the Renaissance, Dowland. Up until a month ago, I was playing on an old Yamaha but now that I'm a grown up I can treat myself to nice things. I just picked up a Cordoba 45 Limited and it's a dream. Quick video: https://www.instagram.com/p/BUgA1UrDvHd/

Looking forward to being a part of this community!

George Crocket

Re: Hey from Portland, Oregon

Post by George Crocket » Sat May 27, 2017 7:06 am

Hi Mike. Welcome to the forum. A significant proportion of our members have had breaks from guitar for one or other reason.