Hello from Vienna

Hassan C.

Hello from Vienna

Post by Hassan C. » Sun Jun 11, 2017 8:19 am

I started as a self-taught guitarist many years ago. After having received a little guitar from an aunt who had worked at Vienna's "Doblinger Musikverlag" I started to play a little Kanon from Haydn on the guitar. (I could read notes, since I had started with piano - which I liked to listen to but hated to play).

And it was Doblinger's Musikverlag where I bought my first guitar sheet music. It was called "Melancholy Galliard" by John Dowland and the editor was a guy called "Karl Scheit", a professor at Vienna's University of Music. In those days it was called "Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst". So, I worked hard to get this piece done and decided to study with this guy who edited such lovely music. I went to the next entrance test straight to Vienna's Music University. (In 1972 I still had very long hair). I was shocked about all those guys (competitors) waiting for the same entrance-test and their chances. Some rehearsed Bach's Fuga or Chaconne even - whereas all I had prepared was a piece from Robert de Visée and the Dowland I just described. Finally the door opened and it was my turn to play. At the jury, next to Karl Scheit there was Louise Hejsek-Walker whom I did not even know at that time.

Miracles happen and I passed the exam.

That's when my study started. I was told later that Professor Scheit disliked long-haired guys. So it was a double miracle I made it. I stayed with Karl Scheit for eight years and passed my final exam, having http://www.brigitte-zaczek.at/index.html on the jury board.