Greetings! Looking forward to a wonderful resource!

cogmission

Greetings! Looking forward to a wonderful resource!

Post by cogmission » Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:27 pm

Hi Everyone,

My name's David Ray and I've been lurking in the background, and have been directed to this forum many times - having been directed here following obsessive Google searches on many topics.

Just a bit about me (I apologize up front for any pain this self-indulgence may cause) :? ; I'm a long time mediocre musician and started playing guitar around the age of 10 after a rebellious 3 years of piano lessons. Finally, after much begging, my music teacher relented, and agreed that it would be ok for me to pick up guitar and gave her blessing to my parents. I played with her and two other kids in church, after I learned some chords.

6 years later I picked up the guitar again after meeting a good friend who became my guitar mentor. He was truly gifted and self-taught, and furnished me with years of inspiration. Mark introduced me to Chris who later grew to be my best friend. After graduating from high school, we both decided to start a band and join the ranks of the many 80's wanna-be new wave rockers of that time. We enjoyed some success; managed to write a few tolerable songs, and had a great time!

After over 20 years I've decided to pick up the guitar again (I always had one sitting around), and started taking lessons (also getting my son Elijah to take lessons) - telling myself I want to actually learn the craft and become an "actual" musician. What got me back into it was listening to Ben Woods playing flamenco music. After listening to him, I've decided I'd like to spend the rest of my years learning spanish-style guitar because I've found it to be extraordinarily beautiful and soul-wrenching. I also like Bossa Nova, and smooth jazzy type music - as long as it features an acoustic guitar either solely or prominently in the music.