Hello From Utah & Illinois, USA

ElRay

Hello From Utah & Illinois, USA

Post by ElRay » Sat Jul 08, 2017 1:45 am

Live in Illinois, currently on contract work in Utah.

Lacking creativity today, so just the facts:

1) Do you play guitar? Are you a lover of guitar music, but don't play yourself? Are you a Luthier?
I do play, not well, but I play. Not a luthier, but modifying what guitars I do have to have wider necks, so everything has almost the same Classical/Fingerstyle spacing at the nut.

2) How long have you played? What is your experience? How old (young) were you when you started? Or did you just start last week?
I've started and restarted many times over the past 20 years as life has gotten in and out of the way. In fact, this is a re-opening of my account that was delete due to inactivity after spending a year in Afghanistan.

3) Do you take lessons? Or are you self-taught? Are you a teacher of Classical Guitar?
Currently no lessons, I have in the past. Best time was lessons with my daughter.

4) Did you start with another type of guitar or musical instrument, and then discover the Classical Guitar?
Clarinet in grade school. 'nuf said.

5) What type of music are you particularly interested in? What pieces are you currently working on?
Primarily Fingerstyle Blues and classical pieces, but not as a Classical Guitarist, and pieces I like, not the "standard" repertoire. Currently on a Stride/Ragtime kick.

6) Do you have a large gap in your life when you stopped playing the guitar?
Yes, many.

7) And so on! Anything that you wish to share with us will be much appreciated.
Wannbe Theory Geek with a penchant for chromatic notations. Rhythmically challenged, but drawn to the more rhythmically complex pieces. Sometimes think I should call myself a frustrated drummer that plays guitar.

oski79

Re: Hello From Utah & Illinois, USA

Post by oski79 » Sat Jul 08, 2017 4:26 am

Welcome to Delcamp!