Hi from Sydney, Australia.

kamaryn

Hi from Sydney, Australia.

Post by kamaryn » Sat Jul 08, 2017 7:43 am

Hi everyone,
My name is Cameron and I'm from Penrith, Western Sydney, Australia.

I am an amateur guitarist who took up playing during high school. I initially played bass guitar as part of a rock band in the late 90s/early 00s (High school delusions of fame and grandeur). My only exposure to bass at the time was very simplistic, popular music (youtube was not really a thing then) and so I had no complicated pieces to listen to and learn and thus quickly became bored. When I took up music during the final 2 years of high school, I moved towards playing classical guitar pieces as this would allow me to play something technical. I ended up playing several simpler classical pieces (e.g. Canon in d) and pop songs like "Tears in heaven". I was self-taught (we were too poor for lessons at the time), however my best friend at the time was a talented guitarist who had taken lessons for many years and so I received some help from him.

For the next few years, I played guitar and bass at my local church but ceased playing after a while. Sadly, I have not picked up the guitar much in the past 10 years. I occasionally get a strong desire to learn gentle, melodic songs (I lack the technical vernacular to describe what I mean) such as Cavatina by John Williams or Gabriel's Oboe (Ennio Morricone) or simply end up learning guitar versions of songs from video game I have played (e.g. To Zanarkand or Suteki Da Ne from Final Fantasy 10). Usually, I play the song fairly relentlessly for a week or so until I mostly have it - then time just moves on and a day of not playing becomes a week becomes a year...