G'day From Australia North Queensland

Alan Hamley
Amateur luthier

G'day From Australia North Queensland

Post by Alan Hamley » Mon Jul 17, 2017 3:36 am

Hello to everyone my name is Alan.

I have been making music for over 40 years as a musician, working in a retail outlet to a music teacher the past eight years until I retired at 65 years old September last year. Although I have had several different occupations over the years, a resource management University degree music has been my life.

My early years until I was 35 years old where spent living and working on a farm. I have a big love for animals and nature. During my time working on the farm it seemed as though I had not learnt much so I decided to go to study at 35 years of age. Best thing I ever did for myself where I gained many skills along with my farming experiences. I didn't realise at he time that many of my farm life skills where so valuable. On the farm you need to be a lateral thinker as you are a mechanic, problem solver, accountant, vet, strategic planner, machinery operator, plumber, electrician and so on. Because where the farm is located you are so isolated you can't call in an expert so you fix it yourself. My experience working with wood was picking up a length of 4" x 2" timber to build or fix something and getting a hand full of splinters because the wood had been left out in the weather for years. Most times the welder was my best friend but at that time I had to use that dreaded wood.