Hello and greetings from Istanbul

tosunpasa

Hello and greetings from Istanbul

Post by tosunpasa » Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:52 pm

Hello all,
Im a student living in Istanbul, just recently (10 days ago) got my first guitar and started learning. I've always been an avid listener of classical music, since the high school, i think i can list my favorite composers as: F. Chopin, Debussy, Rimsky- Korsakov, Tarrega and of course countless other greats. I've took piano lessons as a child but dont really remember anything, from time to time i try to play the electronic keyboard though. before taking up the guitar I've researched a lot about classical guitar and its style, arrangements, composers etc. I really love the baroque era and its music, lute is such a great instrument,i can safely say that guitar is a little bit better. Richness and the warm color of guitar's tone, the quite big (and evergrowing) arrangements of the classical works that i love, and the fact that i had some experience with Turkish lute for some time, got me into the classical guitar scene. Right now I'm learning thru guitartricks site, its been helpful. I'm currently studying Fur Elise, a simple harmonic arrangement. I think I like where this is going. I've started to practice 3-4 hours a day, to really make progress. My ultimate goals are: to be able to play any arrangement of classical piano work I want, Chopin is my favorite; to be able to play baroque and renassaince repertoire, to be able to switch to gypsy jazz maybe in distant future. And finally, to be able to arrange the great classical Ottoman music (which has a diverse and rich repertoire, that is fruitful for baroque style arrangements). I want to share with you a few examples of this. You probably know microtonal guitar, although im not keen on the instrment, the arrangements of ottoman classics are really encouraging. rast makam (mod) overlaps with major tones.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=InZjNlk7DaI&t=0s