Introduction!

Johnmangingly

Introduction!

Post by Johnmangingly » Thu Jul 27, 2017 3:26 pm

Greetings fellow musicians and music lovers! I'm from the great state of Washington. I have been playing music for about 12 years now. Primarily steel string acoustic guitar and banjo, but I've also fooled around a bit with various other folk instruments. Yesterday I bought my first nylon string guitar. I went for something somewhat low end (Córdoba C5) since I am just in the beginning stages of this type of guitar playing. The story is as old as time. I played it in the guitar shop and thought it sounded great and that it would be the right fit for a starter. Then I get home and play on it for an hour or so and that's when I noticed something odd. I'm getting this kind of chorus effect sound on the wound strings when I fret them. It goes away when I play them closer to the fret bars, but that's not exactly a fix. I know that nylon strings obviously have a different sound than a steel string guitar but this is definitely not the desired sound. It really cuts through the rest of the notes in the chords I'm playing and kind of washes out a bit. I am hoping someone here may be able to help me troubleshoot this problem so I can start my guitar playing off right and not feel as discouraged! I'm looking forward to using this forum often during the course of my playing. Thanks for having me and hopefully someone can point my ship in the right direction!

-Jack

Erik Zurcher

Re: Introduction!

Post by Erik Zurcher » Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:39 pm

Hello Jack and welcome to Delcamp forum! Enjoy yourself and see you around!

To learn more about this forum and its rules, please have a look at our welcome page

- Once you have had 2 messages approved by the moderators, you will get access to levels 1 - 3 of the Delcamp score collection, and also be able to post your own scores and recordings.