Hello from Cologne, Germany

lilikati

Hello from Cologne, Germany

Post by lilikati » Tue Sep 19, 2017 5:58 pm

As a new member of this forum, I'd like to say hello and introduce myself.

I am a retired music teacher born in 1950 and have played the guitar (classical music, jazz, world, rock, pop) since I was 15. Over the last years, I have not played much. When I started playing classical music in about 1974, my heroes were John Williams, Andrès Segovia and Julian Bream because of their different styles and approaches. When I studied to become a teacher of music, classical guitar was my main instrument, but I never made it up to a stage that enabled me to play concerts. This was never my aim. Later on, I played Elizabethan music (I love John Dowland) on a lute built by Jacob van de Geest.
In my 30 years of teaching the piano of course was the "standard tool", so the guitar kind of moved into the background. I still used it for song comping, mostly pop and folk music, but I couldn't keep up my routine of practising.
Over the last five years, I have been playing the tenor saxophone, mainly in jazz music. I have always wanted to play a wind instrument, and as a late bloomer I play with soul but without ambition.

One of my guitar-tutors in my university training was a lute player who leads and conducts one of today's best vocal groups for old music: Konrad Junghänel of Cantus Cölln. As a student, I taught a lot of lessons myself for about 4 years but stopped when I became a full-time teacher.