Greetings from Mount Rainier, MD US of A

BrianTakamine

Greetings from Mount Rainier, MD US of A

Post by BrianTakamine » Fri Oct 27, 2017 5:48 pm

Hello,
I am an intermediate level guitar player, self taught. I play a Takamine with a pickup, which my teacher from many years ago used in performance and recommended to me.
I usually get in about 30 minutes each day, focusing exclusively on repertoire. I have previously done a lot with technique: scales, slurs, arpeggios, tremelo, but I have so little time to devote, I figured to concentrate on music.
I have never worked on barre chords specifically, and I know I should,and I think I am fairly good with fingerboard knowledge, but there is always room for improvement.
I am working on a tremelo piece right now, Etude by Karl Ogden, and I would like to play RDLA and others too; I am sure I will need a teacher for that.
I struggle mightily with performance anxiety ( aaahhh, so much better than STAGE FRIGHT!!! ). I have observed that without anyone within earshot, in other words, even with no audience, just the commitment to play one piece, onetime through, no stopping, or going back, etc, is itself unnerving enough to me to cause me to lose my place, on pieces that I feel I know cold. So obviously I need more practice with that, and I do try to play on my front porch once a week.
My repertoire is currently 9 pieces plus Leyenda, which will take me years to learn , I am sure.
Variation - Sor
Variation - Giuliani
Minuet - Sor
First Noel
Jesu Joy of Mans Desiring - Bach
Ave Maria - Schubert
Etude ( 31 ) Karl Ogden
Planxty Irwin _ O'Carrolan
Prelude in D - Bach

Leyenda - Albeniz

The first 3 pieces are from Noad's book; Etude ( 31 ) from a tremelo book, forget the author, ( I am at work here, "Yawn", tough job, I know ); Planxty is from a book of Irish traditional music