Classical Guitarist living in the U.K.

Phil McKelliget

Classical Guitarist living in the U.K.

Post by Phil McKelliget » Fri Nov 03, 2017 9:39 pm

Hi, my user name is Colin, which is actually the name of my cat. My real name, for the record, is Phil. Anyway, I’ve been playing classical guitar since I was about seventeen, which is around forty five years. I’ve had lessons from time to time but am largely self taught. Mostly I’ve played guitar on my own up in my bedroom, but in recent years I’ve found a duet partner of similar ability and really enjoy making music socially. Also, I now play in an ensemble, which has done wonders for my sight reading and listening skills. I guess the sort of music I like playing most is the sort of music I play well - I like to end up with a polished performance. Improving my sight reading skills has also allowed me to take on some modest performance challenges - occasionally I play at garden parties or open garden events, and on one occasion a wedding. I would never have relied on memory alone in front of an audience but find that having the score to read gives me the confidence I need to perform in public. Anyway, it always seems to go down well. I’ve also in recent years discovered YouTube and now have over six hundred subscribers. You can find me by searching for Phil McKelliget (there, that’s blown my anonymity already). I’ve played a Masaru Kohno since 1983 and have also played a David Argent and a Michael Gee guitars, although I’ve always returned to the Kohno. I have a Philip Woodfield on order. I guess my favourite music would be either South American or English Renaissance, but I’m also keen on baroque and contemporary. So, if anyone wants to fire off a question, please feel free.

Erik Zurcher

Re: Classical Guitarist living in the U.K.

Post by Erik Zurcher » Fri Nov 03, 2017 9:49 pm

Hello Phil and welcome to Delcamp forum! Enjoy yourself and see you around!