Hello from Fountain City!

hacklemanm

Hello from Fountain City!

Post by hacklemanm » Sat Nov 11, 2017 8:21 pm

Ok, that is really Kansas City...its called "Fountain City" because there is only one other city in the world with more actual fountains and thats Rome.

At any rate, I am looking forward to exploring this site.

Brief history: the instrument I made my actual living on was the French horn. I played in Calgary, Vancouver, Montreal and lastly in the National Symphony at the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC. I also played a number of years with the Canadian Brass and the Empire Brass. I started playing the horn at 16 and landed my first Principal horn seat in Calgary in 1972. All these years later I became Professor of Horn at the UMKC Conservatory in in Kansas City.

I actually played the guitar before I played the horn but felt when I really committed to the horn I had to put down the guitar. About 10 or so years ago I took up the guitar feeling that I had the horn under control. Just last year I stopped playing the horn so now I am 110% into the guitar. Such a different mistress...don't feel I have to perform like I had to on the horn so it's all about WHAT I WANT...I was pretty much self taught on the horn and the guitar pretty much the same. I have tons of music but just find things I like and figure out how to play them. I often "adapt" pieces the way I see them rather than copy any particular tradition...I did the same as a horn player but with the guitar I can have even more fun! As a professional music teacher I know what to look for in a good student (me this time...) and as the teacher, recognize the shortest, most efficient route to any particular issue.

Anyway, I gather that introductions on this site are important so I wanted to share even if it might be a bit much...
Cheers, Marty Hackleman

oski79

Re: Hello from Fountain City!

Post by oski79 » Sat Nov 11, 2017 9:00 pm

Welcome to Delcamp!