Hello from the Alps in the very south of Germany

too

Hello from the Alps in the very south of Germany

Post by too » Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:29 pm

Hello forum members, just call me "too".

I started playing the guitar (strumming and singing) way over 40 years ago. Over the years my favorite guitar interests switched from playing and singing songs to classic to jazz to modern finger style on steel strings and back or crosswise from here to there.

While suffering finger, wrist and hand pain, playing guitar hurts most of the time and this is frustrating. Thus, I switched to a couple of different instruments over the year and enjoyed playing them. Nevertheless, guitar was always my first and biggest love and some weeks ago I thought I should give it another try. I bought a 3/4 size Cordoba classical guitar which makes stretches less painful. i also have a Guitalele (ADGCEA) which is the most comfortable guitar like instrument I can play. Sorrily the tuning is a fourth higher than standard guitar tuning (like standard guitar with a capo on fret V) so everything sounds much higher or even "thinner".

The new 3/4 guitar has very hard tension strings which work comfortable and sound well on the shorter neck. Though it ist not perfect, it is a good compromise for now - because I found new joy in working on classical tunes ...

Due to this hand / finger pain thing, I also started playing the harp 3 years ago which is great and almost painless for my fingers. As I need short cut finger nails for the harp, I started woring on nail less playing as suggested by the later Tarrega and his student Pujol. I never did this before but I am surprised how sweet and warm such sound can be (still working on it).

What makes me really happy ist that after so long years I found a way to play harp and classical guitar side by side whenever I want and switching from guitar to harp when the left hand thumb hurts too much.