Greetings from Cuenca, Ecuador

sbottle

Greetings from Cuenca, Ecuador

Post by sbottle » Sun Dec 31, 2017 4:46 pm

Hello everyone,

I had just seen this group today so am joining as it seems like a great forum to expand my horizons in classical guitar.

As you can see, I'm currently living in Cuenca, Ecuador where me and my wife moved about a year ago. The music scene in quite vibrant here and the guitar plays a prominent role. Once a year there is a guitar festival with several concerts and workshops. It's not exclusive to classical guitar but several events are around the classical guitar (concerts, book reviews and workshops).

I started playing classical guitar in 1968 when a friend of mine gave me lessons at night in the air traffic control tower at the Stuttgart Airfield Air Force/Army base. Stuttgart, Germany that is :D . I played for 15 years after that and then the pressures of family and a full time job in IT raised their ugly head. It seemed that I was making no progress and in fact reverse progress so I stopped playing. For music, I joined local choirs as a first tenor (the highlight was 2 1/2 years singing with the Johannesburg Symphony Choir while I was on a project in South Africa. I retired at the end of that project and on my way back to Maryland, I stopped in Madrid and bought a Jose Ramirez classical guitar (130 años model). So after over 20 years of not playing, I'm now back practicing and have improved to almost where I was when I stopped. I'm also still singing in a choir (International Cuenca Choral). We just finished our Christmas concerts last week. It's great to be retired :D

Best regards,
Steve Bottle

oski79

Re: Greetings from Cuenca, Ecuador

Post by oski79 » Sun Dec 31, 2017 5:57 pm

Welcome to Delcamp!