Greetings and Happy New Year from NYC

gfrancis5

Greetings and Happy New Year from NYC

Post by gfrancis5 » Mon Jan 01, 2018 6:27 am

I’ve been playing guitar on and off for about 12 years, all self-taught and by ear for the most part. I started with the cheapest guitar I could find: a half-sized acoustic that held it’s tuning for an hour, maybe two. The half-size let me know that I really enjoyed the guitar as an instrument, especially the intimacy of holding it and the fact that it makes “natural” and quiet sound. My previous instruments were piano/keyboard (massive or electronic w/ headphones, take your pick) and French Horn (can be held, but I was never good enough to play it quietly).

Having pretty large hands and finally becoming fed up with the tuning issue, I decided I needed something real. I went to Sam Ash and although I had my mind fully set on an electric/acoustic steel string, I found that the action did not work for me (unless I was willing to spend about 4x my budget). An employee listened to my woes and pointed me towards the classicals. The fretboards were amazing and wide, the strings were light and transparent. I was smitten.

For a couple years Ultimate Guitar was my best friend. I strummed through the pop charts (which were frighteningly repetitive and redundant), learned some basic chords and ate up some good YouTube tutorials. Then came life… school… marriage… kids… some broken strings and alas, my darling guitar was relegated to its case… for years.

My musical attentions turned to Jazz and one day while surfing through YouTube I came upon Cheryl Grice-Watterson’s performance of Errol Garner’s “Misty” (which is prepared as a classical arrangement) and I fell completely and inescapably in love.

I dusted off my old guitar, and here we are.

George Crocket

Re: Greetings and Happy New Year from NYC

Post by George Crocket » Mon Jan 01, 2018 9:21 am