Greetings from Virginia

CliffK

Greetings from Virginia

Post by CliffK » Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:54 pm

First, a big thank you to Professor Delcamp for this site and greetings to all.
I am recently retired and a complete newcomer to playing Classical Guitar thus here to learn. As an eternal beginner with an interest in music history I have some very modest experience with acoustic and electric guitars. I noodled with my dad’s Gibson mandolin as a child in Chicago then with an acoustic guitar as a teen. My best friend had a couple Martin guitars. I remember we went to a Leo Kottke performance at a small venue...my jaw dropped. My friend was way into John Fahey. We liked John Renbourn and Bert Jansch very much. In the 60s, I liked folk, blues and jazz, as well as classical music. I liked and respected Segovia and Bream very much also and Laurindo Almeida caught my attention. I enjoy a number of Jazz guitarists. I heard Jim Hall live at the Village Vanguard in NYC once, a really wonderful experience. I have heard and met the late John Renbourn at a small venue, another wonderful experience. Same with Tony Rice. Some years ago I took formal lessons for six months on acoustic guitar which included notation. Need to get the rust off. I look forward here to learning Classical Guitar and about contemporary artists, composers, and instruments on the scene today. I enjoy pieces from all periods. Best wishes for the New Year.
Last edited by CliffK on Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Michael Thames 2010 It Spruce/BR
Rockbridge SJ cedar/mahagony 2007, cutaway, inlay

Erik Zurcher

Re: Greetings from Virginia

Post by Erik Zurcher » Wed Jan 03, 2018 3:39 pm

Hello CliffK and welcome to Delcamp forum! Enjoy yourself and see you around!

To learn more about this forum and its rules, please have a look at our welcome page