Memorizing music

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
Zabava77

Memorizing music

Post by Zabava77 » Mon Jul 25, 2016 3:58 pm

I am studying using books by Parkening, Braid and Shearer. What percent of musical pieces do you memorize as opposed to playing them using sheet music as a guide?
Carpe Diem

Alhambra 7c

delayedMusician

Re: Memorizing music

Post by delayedMusician » Mon Jul 25, 2016 9:03 pm

A good question. By 'Using sheet music as a guide', I suppose you mean sight-reading. That's the technical term. In my opinion, sight reading is one of the skills that differentiates the men from the boys, and in my opinion, to learn to sight read really easily, is harder than learning anything else.

I really try to avoid memorizing any pieces, because for me every time I practice is an opportunity to sight read, and I try not to lose it. Except in the most advanced pieces where there's a lot of speed involved and all the position shifting makes sightreading very difficult.

A couple of years ago when I started on CG , I was very disappointed about my sight reading skills. I knew a lot of theory and I used music reading only for learning pieces, not for sight reading ( two very different things) but because of the bad sight reading I felt like a schmuck, so I worked on it quite a bit, and now I am where I wanted to be. It's probably the hardest thing I have done in music so I am quite proud of having developed this skill.