Learning efficiently?

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
lurch

Learning efficiently?

Postby lurch » Sun Sep 25, 2016 10:43 am

Hello everyone! I'm long time lurker on this board and I'd like a little advice.

I'm self-taught, not playing exactly classical, more like "fingerstyle" on classical/flamenco guitar but this is my go-to forum when I need any help.
I play for about a year now, usually video game soundtracks, movie soundtracks, few classical pieces, popular rock songs, newly starting with flamenco and so on.

Anyway, my question is – how do you learn/study effeciently? My usual sessions usually start by playing few pieces I know and am able to play decently, play them like a warmup, after that proceed to a new one I want to learn, play it very slowly, with pauses all the time, once, proceed to a next new one, play it very slowly, with pauses all the time, once again and basically doing this for the rest of the session.
However I feel that learning so many pieces parallelly isn't doing me any good and I feel like despite my overall technique improving, there's very little progress and I actually wasn't able to master any of the pieces I know.

So should I change it to just repeat one piece over and over again until I'm happy with it and after that proceed to a next one or is it okay to learn a lot of pieces at once and it will all just catch up at some point?

Thanks a lot in advance.

And sorry for my english, not my first language obviously.

GeoffB
Chief moderator
Chief moderator

Re: Learning efficiently?

Postby GeoffB » Sun Sep 25, 2016 11:06 am

Hi Lurch, welcome to the forum. Could I ask you to introduce yourself here?

Geoff
Classical Guitar Forum.

"Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it." - Steven Wright

JamesMessick
Student of the online lessons

Postby JamesMessick » Sun Sep 25, 2016 11:31 am