Sight Reading

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
Dustin McKinney
Student of the online lessons

Sight Reading

Postby Dustin McKinney » Thu Nov 10, 2016 5:59 pm

Does you have a recommendation for sight-reading materials? I need to work on my ability to read in positions. Thanks in advance!
Kremona Fiesta FC

GravyDave

Re: Sight Reading

Postby GravyDave » Thu Nov 10, 2016 9:40 pm

Hi! I've been using 2 sources. Sagreras Guitar Lesson Books, and Benedicts Sight Reading for the Classical Guitar. I feel weird giving advice, not being an expert, but these 2 sources have helped me tremendously.
I studied piano in childhood and having learned to read music before playing guitar, I have had tough time since I see a keyboard when reading.
A friend of mine whose first language is Spanish told me she always has to translate everything in her head. Same deal.
Its been a slow process, but, luckily I have had the desire enough to learn, that playing some very easy exercises isn't as bad as I thought it would be.

Hope that was a bit of a help.

-Dave

Alain Cloutier

Postby Alain Cloutier » Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:22 pm

A classic: Carcassi's method. Sor's too. I used to just read pages after pages in them just to practice my reading ability.

I'm sure they're easy to find for free on the net.

souldier

Postby souldier » Fri Nov 11, 2016 12:47 am

Mel Bay's deluxe guitar position studies has exercises to play in positions up and down the neck. One thing that has helped me is simply memorizing all the notes on the staff, and knowing the several places where you can find these notes along the fingerboard. Spend time memorizing every single note on the fingerboard everyday so that you can instantly recognize what each note is in each fret.
"Success grants its rewards to a few, but is the dream of the multitudes.
Excellence is available to all, but is accepted only by a few." - Christopher Parkening