Best books to learn to read music

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
cgscott

Best books to learn to read music

Post by cgscott » Wed Jan 11, 2017 2:03 pm

Hi all, so I want to start learning to read music, I have zero previous experience doing so and I was just wondering what books are recommended for a complete beginner?

Thankyou

Scott

tormodg

Re: Best books to learn to read music

Post by tormodg » Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:26 pm

Get a teacher!

Otherwise, a lot of beginner guitar books have sections on reading notes. A quick search on Amazon suggested "Music reading for guitar". Check it out and see if any other books look interesting.
2017 Yngvar Thomassen spruce
1994 Alhambra 6P (cedar, battered, broken and repaired)
+ various steel string and electric guitars

Sold: 2014 Alhambra Linea Profesional (spruce)

2handband

Post by 2handband » Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:33 pm

I learned out of Noad's Solo Guitar Playing. Almost any modern day beginner's level classical guitar method will have beginner's level sight reading examples.

Joe de V

Post by Joe de V » Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:59 pm

One excellent book for beginners with step by step explanations and illustrations including a CD is one published in 2010 by writer, teacher, and musician Rod Fogg This 2010 edition was published by Metro Books of New York by arrangement with Outline Press.
If you want to Learn Music this book is my preference over others that limit their teaching to the treble clef used by guitar players.
It teaches about musical notation and the basic principles of music theory in a very simple way to understand it -
Very accurate explanation for rhythm, scales, pitch to keys, intervals,chords and all the signs and symbols that may be found in a musical piece.
The published Title is ... "how to read music" .It will make an often-usable addition to any music library.

Jack Douglas

Post by Jack Douglas » Wed Jan 11, 2017 9:17 pm