Method Books – Charles Duncan or Frederick Noad which would you choose if you had to learn from one of these methods?

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
spanishguitarmusic

Method Books – Charles Duncan or Frederick Noad which would you choose if you had to learn from one of these methods?

Post by spanishguitarmusic » Wed Feb 15, 2017 2:21 am

Hello Fellow Forum Members. :)

I am a beginner level classical guitarist, but I know how to read notes at a beginning level. I don’t have access to a teacher and as a result only want to learn myself. Currently, I only have book 3 of Charles Duncan’s A Modern Approach to Classical Guitar. I bought this book years ago in a music store, but they only had book 3 and not book 1 or 2 so I bought book 3, because it was on sale for a very good price. I haven’t started going through the book yet as its too difficult for my level. I’ve been hearing so many good things about Frederick Noad’s Solo Guitar Playing books 1 and 2. I would like to purchase a method book to start learning from level one. I am wondering, should I go ahead and buy Charles Duncan’s book 1 and 2, since I already have his book 3 or should I just switch method and go with Frederick Noad’s Solo Guitar Playing books 1 and after book 2?

What is everyone’s opinion here on the forum, about Frederick Noad’s method books as opposed to Charles Duncan’s method? Is one method better than the other or are they pretty much similar for a beginner classical guitarist? If you were to teach yourself from a method book and these were the only two methods to learn from, without the aid of a teacher, which method would you choose to learn from, Frederick Noad’s or Charles Duncan’s? I only list this two methods, because I already have Duncan’s book 3 and I’ve heard great things from Frederick Noad’s method. :merci:

Any opinions and suggestions would be appreciated and helpful! :bye:

jpryan