Recommendations for Bach

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
Phillip_H

Recommendations for Bach

Postby Phillip_H » Mon Mar 27, 2017 11:02 pm

I'm a long time guitarist, but most of that time has been on electric. I guess I'm at an intermediate level for classical. I have played a lot of Brouwer in addition to the Carcassi/Sor studies.

Anyway, I'm looking for some Bach recommendations that wouldn't be way beyond my level. I have the Koonce edition of the lute suites and I'm thinking about tackling the prelude to BWV 1006a in E major. I worked through about 1.5 pages yesterday and it seems to be somewhat accessible.

Any other recommendations?

CGCristian92

Re: Recommendations for Bach

Postby CGCristian92 » Tue Mar 28, 2017 4:08 am

I would suggest starting with the 999 prelude. Maybe even the prelude for the 996 suite.

Dirck Nagy

Postby Dirck Nagy » Tue Mar 28, 2017 4:47 am

How about the cello suites? Suites 1-3 are not too horribly difficult, especially #1, which is a recognizable favorite.

There have been LOTS of arrangements. Stanley Yates' is pretty good for suite 1. (I admit I like John Duarte's #3, but a lot of people don't...lots of added notes)

If you are playing for your own amusement, I don't think there is anything wrong with playing individual movements from suites, instead of trying to tackle the whole thing.

cheers!
dirck
2015 John H. Dick
1994 Larry Breslin ("Deerhead")
1952 Vincente Tatay

Stephen Kenyon
Teacher

Postby Stephen Kenyon » Tue Mar 28, 2017 8:45 am

If you are coping fine with 1006a, you're not intermediate!

A second vote for cello suites, esp if you are interested in learning a whole suite, rather than just odd movements here and there. Another common 'first Bach' is the famous 996 Bourrée.
Simon Ambridge Series 40 (2005)
Trevor Semple Series 88 (1992)
Louis Panormo (1838)
Alexander Batov Baroque Guitar (2013)

Phillip_H