Tips for self teaching classical guitar?

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
Aamateur

Tips for self teaching classical guitar?

Post by Aamateur » Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:55 pm

Hi everybody I would just like some tips on how to start out learning and playing the classical guitar. I have only recently gotten my first guitar. Since I don’t have access to any classical guitar teachers, would it be suitable to self teach?

Do any other self-taught people (or guitarists in general) have any tips on what to practice/learn? I was thinking on focusing on learning individual songs, such as the Spanish song Romance (I prefer the Flamenco/Spanish sounding pieces).

Anyway, thanks in advance - I am looking forward to getting started!

Erik Zurcher

Re: Tips for self teaching classical guitar?

Post by Erik Zurcher » Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:26 pm

Hello Aamateur, may I invite you to introduce yourself here?
Reedition Domingo Esteso by Conde Hermanos 2004; Kenny Hill, model Barcelona 2001
"While you try to master classical guitar, prepare for a slave's life: the guitar will forever be your master and you its slave".

Aamateur

Post by Aamateur » Wed Apr 19, 2017 10:05 pm

Erik Zurcher wrote:Hello Aamateur, may I invite you to introduce yourself here?
Of course :D

Aamateur

Post by Aamateur » Wed Apr 19, 2017 10:29 pm

Any tips anyone?

Stephen Kenyon
Teacher

Post by Stephen Kenyon » Wed Apr 19, 2017 10:53 pm

Aamateur wrote:Any tips anyone?
The best tip is likely to be to sign up for the lessons material and course work you can follow through this forum. Get in touch with a Moderator (like Erik Zurcher) if you need more advice on how to do that in detail. You'll find you get lots of help and support from fellow learners as you go. Good luck and have fun!
Simon Ambridge Series 40 (2005)
Trevor Semple Series 88 (1992)
Louis Panormo (1838)
Alexander Batov Baroque Guitar (2013)

Aamateur