Lost in all the information

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
Jason Hensley

Lost in all the information

Post by Jason Hensley » Mon Apr 24, 2017 8:48 pm

Hi I have been playing guitar for a few years. I bought a classical guitar a few months ago. I decided to relearn guitar from the ground up. I am lost right now and not too sure where to go next. I will list everything I have learned so far so as to be as much help out of the gate as is possible.

Chords : DM, AM, EM, GM, CM, FM, Dm, Am, Em, Gm, Cm, FMaj7, G7, C7, B7, A7, D7, E7, How to form any power chord based off 6 and 5 string, Asus 2/4, Dsus2/4, Esus4,

Slash Chords : D/F#, G/B (2versions) C/G

Barre Chords: E shape barre chord using the shapes of M,m, 7, 7 and m7
A Shape, M,m,m7, Dom7

Scales : Minor Pentatonic, C Major(Am), G Major(Em). I have also learned all of the shapes that allow me to switch keys simply by moving the shape to a new root note.

I have also learned how to find octaves forwards, backwards and how to use the CAGED system to find them going up the fretboard.

Sight Reading: I have practiced random sight reading, and random rhythm reading using online sources so I know that I am sight reading and not just replaying what I already know.

Pieces I have learned : Ode to Joy - Beethoven, Andantino in C - Carulli.

What Ive currently been studying : 120 Right Hand Studies - Giuliani (using Scott Tenants suggested ordering from Pumping Nylon), Segovia Scales (have only worked on the first so far) and I began learning Carcassi Op60 Etude 1 and was going to learn all 25 but am considering that may be a wrong choice.

As for theory I have been studying theory quite in depth learning about chords, intervals, and how they are structured.