Is the ability to improvise in a classical manner in technique or playing others works

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
Jason Hensley
Student of the online lessons

Is the ability to improvise in a classical manner in technique or playing others works

Post by Jason Hensley » Sat Apr 29, 2017 10:26 pm

Please keep in mind that I am not familiar with all the classical terms and definitions of things, I am a self taught guitarist with no teacher available due to my location.

So I have been playing for awhile and I was able to really decide what my goal is. I would like to be able to play a few different pieces and have the skill to pick up ones that I want to learn as I discover more music. One example of this is Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, that is my dream piece to be able to play of all the classical pieces I have ever heard, the whole thing. I would also like to play Chaconne in D Minor by Bach as well.

Aside from these couple pieces being my ultimate goal to play, I want to be able to improvise and I'm not so worried about speed as of yet, but I want to be able to play something that sounds classical with a couple scale runs here and there, and fingerstyle similar to Andantino in C by Carulli, or the piece Ancient Stones from the game Skyrim.