Fretting Hand Muscles

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
corius

Fretting Hand Muscles

Post by corius » Sun May 21, 2017 7:47 am

Hi,

I started playing again a few months ago and I'm tying to improve technique rather than just play pieces. I've been doing quite a bit of LH and scale practice etc from Pumping Nylon and I'm finding the muscles down the outside of my fretting hand are very slightly tender ( much like after doing sit-ups )

The fingers, tendons etc are fine, so I'm guessing that this is just the muscle strength improving for my pinky and 3rd finger. Is my assumption correct, or is my hand about to fall off?

rinneby

Re: Fretting Hand Muscles

Post by rinneby » Tue May 30, 2017 8:31 pm

I'm by no means a teacher but... It's normal to feel some tension and even muscle soreness when practicing new pieces, chords or scales. Especially when you haven't played for long. In fact this is an evil necessary, since your muscles needs to grow and get stronger, just like with any other training.

But you should stop immediately if you feel pain, this is most important. And be sure to take frequent breaks.

All the best from Sweden.

/Jon
1965 - Masaru Kono
1996 - Masaru Kohno Maestro

You are the instrument, not the guitar

fast eddie

Post by fast eddie » Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:34 am

I did not play for a long time (about 30 years), from the early 80's until recently. Several months before I began again, a hand muscle between my left thumb and index finger, just disappeared overnight. I went to a Neurologist who didn't give a reason for this but prescribed a rubber ball to squeeze to rebuild hand muscles. The muscle that disappeared is gone, so I'm stuck with that. I recently bought a hand exerciser online that allows me to exercise 4 fingers individually by squeezing buttons attached to 4 little springs. This has helped me a lot.