Self-taught sight-reading

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
SunnyDee

Self-taught sight-reading

Post by SunnyDee » Fri Jun 16, 2017 3:58 pm

I'm a confident self-learner/teacher. I always say I can't afford a teacher better than I am. But I would like a few suggestions exactly how to go about learning some fundamental "sight-reading".

I say "sight-reading" but I don't ever intend to have to read in public on the fly or to read really complex classical pieces. Rather I want to be able to quickly pick out a melody line or read a tab without slowly figuring it out. I'm also not overly concerned with being able to "hear" a piece as I read without playing, although, that's a by-product of practice for sure.

I understand HOW to read, meaning I can read, given time, because I do know the staff and all that. I also know the fretboard.

My request is just for suggestions about best practices in how to match up what I see with my fingers. So far, I'm creating little exercises that show both tab and staff in Musescore. (I'm much more focused on the staff, but I figure might as well see tabs, too.) I've learned the open strings well, so I can play those in randomly generated staff. Now I want to know what next. So, two questions....

FIRST:
What's the best way to learn more notes? Again, I know the notes, but don't have a quick connection between seeing the note and touching the fretboard. I've begun learning the notes in C major on the first frets, but what do you think? Is there a better way?
I've got musescore staff/tab for each note between 1 and 12, but practicing that doesn't seem that useful for reading melody, etc. Thoughts?
Should I learn the chromatic scale? Learn by keys? Ideas?

SECOND: