New player - no 3rd finger.

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
tnrunner

New player - no 3rd finger.

Post by tnrunner » Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:17 am

Hello, Armin here. I have just started back on practicing my classical guitar skills. I have been playing off and on for 30 years. About 4 days ago I had an unfortunate mishap. My left ring finger had to be amputated due to an accident. Of course I am at a standstill for now. I play right handed. I am looking for playing options due to my mishap. I am open to any suggestions. Looking forward to hearing from you. Thanks!

Evocacion

Re: New player - no 3rd finger.

Post by Evocacion » Mon Oct 02, 2017 11:22 am

I lost the tip of my right ring finger when I was about 6 years old. I also play right-handed, and use my little finger as the 'a' finger. This works very well for me.
Have you tried playing left-handed, where the loss of your left ring finger would be less of a problem? This may, of course, be too big a change.

Kent

Post by Kent » Mon Oct 02, 2017 1:05 pm

Research the name "Django Reinhardt"

chiral3

Post by chiral3 » Mon Oct 02, 2017 4:26 pm

I have a friend that lost the ring finger on his left (fretting) hand due to a machine accident about 20 years ago. He was in touring bands since he was a teenager and had gotten into classical guitar around that time. He's an awesome flamenco guitarist. If it's limited him at all I can't tell. He certainly has to make some stretches that I don't. Hope this buoys your sprits some.
物の哀れ

John higgon
Amateur luthier

Post by John higgon » Mon Oct 02, 2017 4:59 pm