Guitar and Special Needs Students

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
pfuentes361

Guitar and Special Needs Students

Post by pfuentes361 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:58 pm

Does anybody have any experiences teaching guitar to special needs students? If so, what materials, books, music, methods do you use? I teach a beginner guitar high school class with a special needs student in it and I'm not really sure what to do with her. She's physically capable of playing and following simple directions, but I probably can't teach her how to read and play like the other students. Any info will be greatly appreciated.

Sean Eric Howard

Re: Guitar and Special Needs Students

Post by Sean Eric Howard » Fri Oct 20, 2017 11:56 am

Hi,

I am a classical guitarist and a special education teacher. You state your student has special needs - what specifically are her special needs? I know a lady from college who has epilepsy and Asperger Syndrome . . . but has, according to the University of Louisville, a 178 IQ and she plays the piano better than anyone else I've ever heard play - and that includes a great number of professional concert givers. Does this student have a verified learning disability or a deeper cognitive deficit?
"Besides, this criticism of Segovia is pointless. If you disagree with what Segovia did, take that energy and go out and do something positive. Otherwise, shut up." - Eliot Fisk

Stephen Kenyon
Teacher

Post by Stephen Kenyon » Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:13 pm

Its such a varied area I suspect one would have to take every single case as an individual situation and if necessary produce materials specially. If the particular student has a carer or other responsible person I'd want to talk to them to find out how they are fixed in the various areas of learning.
Simon Ambridge Series 40 (2005)
Trevor Semple Series 88 (1992)
Louis Panormo (1838)
Alexander Batov Baroque Guitar (2013)

simonm