Practicing scales and aging

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
Larry McDonald
Teacher

Practicing scales and aging

Postby Larry McDonald » Sat Jul 19, 2008 2:36 pm

Hi,

I guess it's scale season again.

I studied scales religiously for years. Some decades ago, I reduced my scale study to two weeks in August and two weeks in January (plus whenever I felt I needed to do them, like now). I can maintain 132-138 bpm (sixteenths) at all times with repertoire, and during my 2 week refresher, I can get to 144 and often 152. Unfortunately, this is getting harder to do every year.

I'm no spring chicken anymore. I turned 50 this year and my hands are getting stiff. Maybe I'm feeling 32 years of professional playing/teaching. (I also delivered pianos for 20 years). It now takes me 20 minutes to warm up, just to be able to play a clean etude. I also have a trigger "m" finger in my right hand. It hasn't slowed me down but there are mornings where it is really stuck.

The reason I give this repulsive personal info is because I may need to adjust my scale study and warm-ups over the next few years, for aging reasons. I thought I might have to go back to a lighter, regular practice instead of my robust, semi-annual refresher. Dang!

My question is for the seasoned citizens who keep up a concert program, what are your experiences with aging and scales as you get nearer to pension time? Do you do more scales or less? Lighter or more robust? Or none at all?

Geriatrically yours,
Larry McDonald

zinsmeis

Re: Practicing scales and aging

Postby zinsmeis » Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:02 pm

Am not a professional, but I can identify with the aging problem. Happen to have same trigger finger as you mention. Also require more warm-up than in the past to get up to speed.

Don't have any suggestions, but I find that as I decrease in speed I pay more attention to purity of sound and putting more feeling into a piece.