Sevilla transcriptions

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
KiddiFrissi

Sevilla transcriptions

Postby KiddiFrissi » Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:39 pm

Hi, I have been playing the Konrad Raggosnig transcription for 2 years now, but I am considering switching over to the Manuel Barrueco one. Is it a a good Idea switch like this or.... ?

toneslave

Re: Sevilla transcriptions

Postby toneslave » Mon Oct 12, 2009 8:52 pm

It's hard for me to comment on the Ragossnig transcription, but I have the Michael Troster, Barrueco and Tarrega-Llobet transcriptions. In comparison, Troster and Tarrega-Llobet include voices that make the piece a little more difficult to play. For example, Measure 3, beat 3 (Troster G - C - F# - A - F#) (Barrueco G - G - A - F#) (Tarrega-Llobet G - D - C - A - C - F#). As you can see Barrueco's transcription is easier to play; he (EDIT: implements) the Vm7 differently than the other two. Subsequently, in the beats that follow uses of the 'd' are different as well. I've always mixed and matched transcriptions trying to balance difficulty with good harmony. Buy the Barrueco.

Did I just over answer a simple question? I think I did.
Last edited by toneslave on Tue Oct 13, 2009 6:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

KiddiFrissi

Postby KiddiFrissi » Mon Oct 12, 2009 9:00 pm

hehe... well The Barrueco versoin is much more difficult then the Raggosnig, but IF you have lot of different versions isn´t it easy to make it difficult for yourself when you are gonna play it live...?

KevinCollins

Postby KevinCollins » Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:19 pm

Each of them has something to offer, ts. You might consider getting out the original piano score and deciding for yourself what to keep from each. This sounds like work, but there really isn't much to change, Albeniz wrote guitar music and it fits on the guitar, pretty much.