Tips for Memorizing a Passage

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
Dave in Canada

Tips for Memorizing a Passage

Post by Dave in Canada » Fri Feb 03, 2012 11:41 pm

Maybe it's my age (47) but I find it takes more effort for me to memorize a passage than it used to. For sure the easiest way I know if I really like a piece is to hear the recording of it over and over til its 'in my head' and then learn the written music to it. But sometimes you come across a piece that doesn't give you that option, and you have to do without music.

I'm not a professional musician, and I bet there are some brillaint tips/ideas to be had here in this forum for memorization that I and some others would love to hear, any volunteers? :merci:

barry haywood

Re: Tips for Memorizing a Passage

Post by barry haywood » Sat Feb 04, 2012 12:30 am

Hi Dave,
I use many techniques for memorising, including learning to sing the melody line - remembering the chord/harmonic sequence - playing the passage a million times etc. All of these give some success, but the one thing that never fails me (and sadly I never do this until all others have failed :( ) is to copy out the passage on manuscript paper, repeatedly, until I can write it from memory. Time consuming but, for me, almost infallible. When I can write without error, I can play without hesitation.
Another technique I use with my younger pupils is to coach them into visualising their hand movements on the strings - without moving the hands or holding the guitar - until they can "see" the correct sequence of movements and describe them to me accurately. Usually when they acheive this they can then play through the passage, slowly, with confidence. The passage needs to be short but we frequently manage 16 bars in one lesson. Strangely, I find few pupils over the age of about 12 who can "visualise" clearly enough to use this method.