How many new pieces at once

A "classroom" environment for exchanging Technical Questions & Answers, How-To's, music theory concepts, etc.
Mark Farber
Student of the online lessons

How many new pieces at once

Post by Mark Farber » Sat Nov 01, 2014 12:11 pm

I am a relative beginner, currently working my way through the repertoire pieces in Parkening vol. 1. I find that when I start working on a new piece, I get bored of playing the same thing over and over. I therefore usually have 3-4 new pieces on the go. One which I am just starting (trying to figure out which finger goes where), one which I can play very slowly with mistakes, one which I can play at or close to tempo with a few rough patches, and one that I am "finishing off". I find that moving back and forth between these every day spices things up, and helps to keep me from getting overly frustrated when something is just not working.

I should also mention that I am currently self taught so I don't have a teacher to guide my progression.

Just wondering if this is an effective way to learn, or is it better to stick to only 1 or maybe 2 pieces at a time? What are your thoughts?

Evocacion

Re: How many new pieces at once

Post by Evocacion » Sat Nov 01, 2014 12:21 pm

As a fellow autodidact, I do much the same.

I have 4 stages; Learning, Memorising, Practising, and Repertoire.

Learning is as you describe, figuring out the best fingering, and playing very slowly (I use a metronome at the first three stages) until I can play the piece from the music.

Memorising is then learning the piece so that I can play it through, still slowly, without the music.

Practising is slowly increasing the speed until I can play it at the proper speed.

Repertoire is the collection of pieces that I can (in theory!) play, with or without the metronome.

I currently have two pieces I'm learning, two memorising, and four practising.

I've no idea what happens if you have a mentor, but I'm sure someone will enlighten us soon...