Can the speed of sound or light be slowed down?

Talk about things that are not necessarily related to music or the guitar.
glassynails

Can the speed of sound or light be slowed down?

Post by glassynails » Wed Jul 13, 2016 10:22 pm

Was wondering if the speed of sound or light could be slowed down.

Why does light travel? Sound?
"GLASSYNAILS" on Youtoob for my "no edit" - "no fakery" audio recordings. Just me, my Alhambra 7p spruce, and an Olympus ls-10 portable recorder.

slidika

Re: Can the speed of sound or light be slowed down?

Post by slidika » Thu Jul 14, 2016 11:31 am

I think a black hole would do that.
Whenever I am not ready for my music lesson, I call it 'facing the music'.

bear

Post by bear » Thu Jul 14, 2016 12:17 pm

When I was an undergrad I majored (among many other things) in physics. Of course, the world was flat and Helios drove his chariot across the sky.
I came across the article that you might find interesting - http://news.harvard.edu/gazette/1999/02.18/light.html
2013 Jeff Medlin '37 Hauser 640mm sp
2006 Michele Della Giustina Concert 10 string 650mm ce
2005 Jose Ramirez 4E 650mm ce
2005 Manuel Rodriguez Model C3F 650mm sp
2003 Manuel Rodriguez Model D 650mm ce

pogmoor

Post by pogmoor » Thu Jul 14, 2016 4:44 pm

The speed of sound varies with several properties of the medium it is passing through (eg temperature and density). The speed of light in a vacuum is a constant such that the speed it arrives remains the same even if you are moving away from the source. However the speed of light through transparent solids, liquids and gases is less than its speed in a vacuum.
Eric from GuitarLoot
Renaissance and Baroque freak; classical guitars by Paul Fischer (1995) and Lester Backshall (2008)
Yamaha SLG 130NW silent classical guitar (2014), Ramirez Guitarra del Tiempo (2017)

Pat Dodson

Post by Pat Dodson » Thu Jul 14, 2016 5:11 pm

Here's a rather fun experiment to determine the speed of light that can be done in your kitchen.