Should legal age for smoking be 21?

Talk about things that are not necessarily related to music or the guitar.
Laudiesdad69

Should legal age for smoking be 21?

Post by Laudiesdad69 » Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:18 pm

The county that I live in just raised the legal age for buying tobacco and related products like vaporizers to 21. Most every place in the state that I live in has the legal age for these products at age 18.
This is going to be interesting to see how they enforce this. There is a chain of mini marts where I live that requires I'd for any such sales, regardless of how "old" a person looks. I think this will help to keep kids that are still in high school from buying tobacco. A generation from now, there will be less people using tobacco thanks to education programs.

I am a respiratory therapist, and I used to teach smoking cessation classes. It is interesting, albeit disheartening, to see so many people (many of them on oxygen) still smoke after being educated and treated for tobacco abuse. As we all know, tobacco is highly addictive. And, many people just can't successfully quit smoking. I wonder if raising the age will keep young people from starting to use tobacco or not. I hope so, but I wonder if most people are for this or if they think it is government over-reach?

Any opinions?

Andrew Fryer

Re: Should legal age for smoking be 21?

Post by Andrew Fryer » Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:26 pm

Dunno. I've never smoked either tobacco or cannabis, and the attached stigmas vary depending on which direction they are coming from. But I'm interested in some of your syntax:
Laudiesdad69 wrote:...smoke after being educated and treated for tobacco abuse. As we all know, tobacco is highly addictive
In spite of your observation that tobacco is highly addictive, its victims (shall we call them?) are "abusers", and education is all they get to combat an addiction? Did you say that carefully, or is that a loosely expressed typical view?
1975 Calatayud y Gisbert, Yamaha CG131S.